GF Restaurant Reviews · Gluten Free Ideas

Gluten Free in Niagara on the Lake

niagara

A few weekends ago, I had a girls’ weekend with my wonderful girlfriends in Niagara on the Lake.  We stayed at The Prince of Wales Hotel, which offered a delicious breakfast buffet at their restaurant, Escabeche, with all of their dishes labelled with gluten so I knew for sure what was safe to eat.  They had lots of options and also an extensive breakfast menu with gluten free french toast!  It was so nice to see that the cooks were so gluten aware.  Unfortunately, when looking at their lunch and dinner menus, it didn’t seem like they had too many gluten free options.

For dinner, we went to The Garrison House, which was amazing!  I ordered a burger (without the bun, of course) with their delicious french fries called Tavern chips.  What I appreciated about this restaurant is that the staff was very knowledgeable and able to suggest a lot of options to me.  I find that some restaurants don’t realize that a small little switch to a menu item can make it gluten free.  The Garrison House gave me as many options and substitutions as possible, which I really appreciated.  This also helped me to feel more comfortable with the food I was eating.

I would definitely feel comfortable going back to Niagara on the Lake and trying out other restaurants and hotels.  You should too!

Leave a Reply

