Gluten Free Tips

Why Does Gluten Free Bread Stick Together When Frozen?

Only someone with a gluten allergy can understand why you’d pay more for a product that tastes worse than its gluten full counterpart.  Gluten free bread is one of those products.  It costs and weighs 2 – 3 times more than a standard loaf of bread, needs to be kept frozen and leaves you desperate for just one piece of regular bread!  Gluten free bread can never be eaten as bread in my opinion.  It needs to be toasted or your are having to deal with a piece of food that sucks every ounce of moisture out of your mouth.  Finally, why the heck does gluten free bread stick together when frozen??  I have come very close to cutting off my finger with a knife as I madly try to separate two pieces of GF bread first thing in the morning – half conscious and starving (not a good combination!).  I either end up ripping the bread to pieces in a fit of rage or decide to throw the bread into the microwave for a few seconds in order to separate it a bit easier.

I know you are reading this post to determine why gluten free bread sticks together but the truth is, I am not a chemist and I have no freakin’ clue.  All I can say is that I feel your gluten free pain and can make a suggestion to make your life easier.  Before you throw your next loaf of expensive gluten free bread into the freezer, defrost it, cut small squares of parchment or wax paper and put one piece of paper between each slice of bread.  This will prevent the bread from sticking together and save you some sanity.

Bread

On the plus side, gluten free bread is slowly starting to taste better.  I still wait for the day that I can eat a peanut butter and jam sandwich without having to gulp down 10 gallons of water afterwards.  I also hope that the price will slowly start to come down.  I know I’m asking for a lot, but hey, a celiac girl can dream, can’t she??

4 thoughts on “Why Does Gluten Free Bread Stick Together When Frozen?

  1. Yep, I hear you. I’ve pretty much given up on sandwiches, except for a toasted tomato every now and again. Even then, I leave most of the crusts behind.

  2. Lol! I love your post. You took the words right out of my mouth. I’ve been GF for 5+ years, and don’t know of any other way to eat a sandwich than with toasted bread. You absolutely have to toast GF bread. If you find out the answer to this question, I’d love to know as well. I do bake my own on occasion, when I have time, but it’s just so easy to pick up a loaf at the store.

Leave a Reply

