President’s Choice’s New Gluten Free Products

PC

In December 2012, President’s Choice released eight new gluten free products that are fully certified by the Canadian Celiac Association’s Gluten Free Certification Program. The eight new products include: Blueberry Muffins, Double Chocolate Muffins, Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf Cake, Banana Loaf, Mini Brownies (my personal favourite), Coconut Cookies, Chocolate Chip Cookies, and White Sandwich Bread.  So far, I have tried the Blueberry Muffins and Mini Brownies.  Both products are very good.  I was especially impressed by the Mini Brownies, which are very moist and have lots of flavour.  Family members and friends told me about these new products as they are always looking out for GF options that they can have on hand when I come to their homes.  These are great options for my family and friends as they are easy to find and less expensive than most GF products.

PC products can be found in many grocery stores across Canada, including Loblaws, No Frills, Zehrs, Real Canadian Superstore, Atlantic Superstore, Dominion Stores (Newfoundland and Labrador), Independent, Maxi, Valu-Mart, Save Easy, Fortino’s, Provigo and Bloor Street Market (click here to find a store near you).

If you have tried any of these PC Gluten Free products, please let me know your thoughts on their taste and quality.  Thank you!

9 thoughts on “President’s Choice’s New Gluten Free Products

  1. I got sick on the mi I brownies. I thought it couldn’t be that since it says it is gluten free but I tried them again a few weeks later and same result. I will not be trying any more of their products.

    • Angele, you are not alone. My girlfriend (celiac & GF just shy of 2 years) reacted almost immediately after eating them. We spent a weekend with friends at a cottage. Everyone was responsible to prepare a meal. While everyone is conscientious to her high sensitivity and always take care to consider her diet…still, you can imagine the potential for cross contamination at the very least. With 12 people in a small cottage (even smaller kitchen), preparing, cooking and eating meals using the same pots, pans and dishes, not to mention the bbq & draft beers (Obv a NO GO for her) I was on high alert the entire time. She totally impressed me and herself and was perfectly fine without an itch or flare up the whole weekend. That is of course until the drive home when it began and she knew instantly that the next few days were not going to be fun. About an hour we pulled away from the cottage our host offered the brownies (bought specifically for her) so after a label check she politely accepted. The entire drive home she could feel the inflammation building and the headache pounding. We weren’t home for 10 minutes and was in bed where she basically stayed for almost a week. I’m curious…are the folks here, who have had no reactions CELIAC sufferers or intolerant/sensitive to gluten? After looking at the ingredients, I zeroed in on the cocoa. I know most if not all pure 100% dark cocoa powders should be GF and are typically fine for Celiacs (always confirm w/company first). Many brands of chocolate are ok too but my instincts had the gluten radar tingling (I’m suspicious of anything in powder form as the risk of cross contamination is high with so many additives being put into it).

      I wonder if PC will provide the source and manufacturer (location) of its cocoa and the contents within it!?

      I feel, this is where, the gluten free label regs fall short in providing confidence to Celiac sufferers, especially those severe cases of hyper sensitivity Celiac. This also includes the GF certification program – Check out my blog post about it here:

      http://wp.me/s3Mut9-658

      …. to sum up a long winded rant…I’m not naive to think that gluten can be totally 100% removed from anyone’s diet. As long as there are cereal grains on this planet gluten will survive and make its way in any of its many forms into the digestive system. However, reading a label and determine if gluten is an ingredient is pretty simple (with or without regulations) and with proper attention paid to the diet Celiac and autoimmune responses can be held in check….what the celiac community and pretty much every average consumer needs and should demand from public health agencies and the medical establishment is assurance the hidden additives whether it be gluten or anything else that make up the parts of an ingredient, should be readily available and not even remotely considered for GLUTEN FREE status. For Tim Hortons to receive a certification because it makes a GF macaroon is irresponsible and borderline insulting (and Im not even averse to GLUTEN or have any allergies). Instead, what it does is perpetuate the misconceptions about CELIAC DISEASE and continues to misguide the general public’s understanding by offering a false sense of security. The way I see it….You are either strictly 100% GLUTEN FREE producer/manufacturer or you aren’t. There is no 30/70 split. This might be OK for someone with a mild wheat or gluten allergy but for an autoimmune disorder like Celiac … it is a constant battle – all day, every day, for life!!!

      Keep Calm with Gluten Gone

      • Great points…thank you for posting. As a Celiac sufferer, I agree that labelling needs to be better and a Gluten Free label on a product, needs to provide assurance that there is no risk of cross contamination with products that contain gluten or ingredients that could contain gluten. With PC, a company that produces many pre-packaged goods that contain gluten, it’s important to find out (which I will) if the company uses dedicated equipment and facilities to produce their GF products. In addition, a reaction to gluten can sometimes go unnoticed for some Celiac sufferers at times but this still means that your body is being harmed.

        I hope one day, Celiac sufferers can be more confident knowing that the products they are consuming are completely safe.

  2. I have recently tried the PC gluten free two bite brownies and they are fantastic. I think I like them more than the original ones if that is possible. :)

  3. I have had problems with the PC gluten-free sandwich slices, white bread. I do not have Celiac disease, but I have an inflammatory disease and avoid gluten. However, I react badly to this product – intestinally every time I try it.

Leave a Reply

