I was shopping at Loblaws this morning and stumbled upon Gluten Free Rice Krispies! I was shocked to see this new addition to my gluten free options. I grabbed a box along with some marshmallows and made some Rice Krispy squares as soon as I got home!
It can be confusing to most people to think that regular Rice Krispies contain gluten. Unfortunately, the original Rice Krispies cereal uses barley malt – a source of gluten. The GF version of the cereal uses brown rice and eliminates the barley malt. It is also produced in a separate facility so the risk for cross contamination is eliminated.
I found GF Rice Krispies at the Loblaws at 380 The East Mall (Etobicoke). Please comment on this post if you have seen the cereal in other stores.