Gluten Free Ideas · Gluten Free Products

Gluten Free Flours – Toronto

I always feel bad giving people recipes for my gluten free products, as many of the recipes include a variety of gluten free flours that sound foreign to most people.  I hope that this post will help people to navigate through the city to find the best places to make their gluten free flour purchases.  If you live in the Toronto area and can contribute to this post, please contact me (ksteinfeld1@gmail.com) and I will add your suggestions to the list.

I would recommend calling the store of your choice to double-check that they have what you need in stock as some stores can make changes to their stock quickly.  In addition, be careful of bulk food stores that store their gluten free flours in close proximity to regular flours as there is the potential for cross contamination.

Stores Across the GTA:

Bulk Barn (visit www.bulkbarn.ca for a list of locations) offers the following flours.  This is my go-to store for most of my gluten free baking items.

  • Sorghum Flour (boxed) – call location ahead as I find some of the locations in the city quickly run out of stock
  • Teff Flour (in a bin)
  • Potato Starch (in a bin)
  • Potato Flour (in a bin)
  • Tapioca Starch (in a bin)
  • Brown & White Rice Flour (in a bin)
  • Arrowroot Starch (in a bin)
  • Amaranth Flour (boxed)
  • Quinoa Flour
  • Soya Flour
  • Corn Flour
  • Xantham gum (packaged on the shelf)

Bulk Barn also carries a variety of pre-made gluten free mixes (i.e. brownie mix, cinnamon raisin bread mix) as well as other pre-packaged gluten free items. 

Toronto – West End

Bulk N’ Bits – 250 The East Mall, Cloverdale Shopping Centre – 416-237-9701

  • Tapioca Starch
  • Potato Starch
  • Potato Flour
  • White/Brown Rice Flour
  • Arrowroot Starch
  • Corn Flour

Organic Fine Foods – 3066 Bloor Street West – 647-347-5816

  • Sorghum Flour
  • Brown/White Rice Flour
  • Frozen gluten free products
  • Gluten free pre-packaged foods (i.e. Glutenfreeda’s Instant Oatmeal, other cereals, cookies, etc.)

Toronto – East

Loblaws – 17 Leslie Street (Leslie & Lake Shore) – 416-469-2897

  • Carries the ‘Bob’s Red Mill’ product line: cornmeal, tapioca starch, almond meal flour, quinoa flour, white rice flour, cornbread mix, brownie mix
  • Also carries the following gluten free product lines: Glutino, El Peto & Enjoy Life
  • This location is in the same building as a Bulk Barn, so you can pretty much guarantee you will be able to find all of your gluten free baking items in one stop

Toronto – North

Johnvince Foods – 555 Steeprock Drive, North York – 416-636-6146 – http://www.johnvince.com

  • Brown/White Rice Flour
  • Corn Flour
  • Potato Flour
  • Arrowroot Starch
  • Chickpea Flour
  • Potato Starch
  • Tapioca Starch
11 thoughts on “Gluten Free Flours – Toronto

  1. Thanks Katie – great info. My family just baking our own Gluten Free bread in a bread machine and it’s coming out fantastic. Surprised to see the ratio of Starch (ie Potato or Tapioca) to Rice Flour is so wide (ie 2 1/3 cups starch to 1 3/4 cups flour) ! I’ve been reading posts and I’m looking for Organic Brown Rice and I’ll grind it up to a powder at home (already do this with Flax seeds with excellent results). If you know anywhere that sells bulk (at least 1kg+) organic brown rice – pass on the info ! Thanks Marc

    1. Hi Josée! Thanks for your message. I do use buckwheat flour in pancakes and muffins and it is a great GF flour option as it is high in fibre and protein. A couple of tips I follow with buckwheat flour is to only make it a maxiumum of 25% of your total flour ratio as the taste and flavour can overpower your baked goods. In addition, you typically have to use more liquid in your baking when using this whole grain flour.

      1. Thank you very much for responding, this is very helpful. I did make waffles this weekend with 50% buckwheat and 50% whole wheat and it was quite thick…the kids liked them but now I know to put less buckwheat. 🙂

  2. Hey there I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a
    remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at
    the minute but I have bookmarked it and also
    added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

Leave a Reply

