Dinners · Italian · Recipes · Seafood

Shrimp and Tomatoes with Corn Pasta

Ever since I have been diagnosed with Celiac disease a couple of years ago, I have used rice pasta for my lasagna and other pasta dishes.  I knew that corn pasta was another alternative, but I could never find it in stores.  When I went to Tara Natural Foods in Kingston last week (see Gluten Free Restaurants for more information), I was surprised to see an entire shelf dedicated to corn pasta, including lasagna noodles, fusilli and spaghetti.  I grabbed all the varieties I could get and was eager to try them out. 

While rice pasta has been a good alternative, the taste and texture just doesn’t compare to regular pasta.  Rice pasta has to be cooked for a perfect amount of time (about 15 minutes) or else it can be too mushy or too hard.  I still struggle to determine the right amount of time to cook rice pasta.

Corn pasta on the other hand, takes less time (about 7 minutes), does not turn out mushy and tastes delicious.  I quickly put together this pasta dish for last night’s dinner.

Ingredients – Serves 2

  • 2 cups corn pasta – I used San Zenone fusilli (http://www.prairieharvestpasta.com/)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 chopped red onion
  • 8 – 10 cooked jumbo shrimp, tails removed
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/3 cup jarred pesto
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain and set aside
  2. In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add garlic and onion and cook until soft.  Add shrimp and Italian seasoning and cook for 2 minutes.  Add chopped tomatoes and cook another minute.
  3. Add pasta, cheese and pesto to skillet and mix until well blended and warm.
  4. Serve and sprinkle with more parmesan cheese, if desired

Leave a Reply

