Baby Steps

Winding Down

This week, Emily’s doctor gave me the green light to begin the weaning process.  I never thought I would get to this point.  For the past 11 months, I have timed my life around Emily’s next nursing session and now that it is coming to an end, I will sadly miss all of the inconveniences, mishaps and memories.

When you first start out nursing a newborn, you feel like your entire life has been put to a halt to make way for a 24 hour a day buffet for your little one.  The physical and emotional stress of this grand responsibility can be difficult to bear at times.  Fortunately, the nursing sessions eventually get shorter, less frequent and less painful.  Sooner or later, you begin to enjoy this time with your baby.

When I look back at my nursing experiences, I would have to thank a few key things that enabled me to nurse more discreetly and easily.  First, the tinted windows in my car have played an important role during those desperate nursing times in the backseat of the car.  Second, the growing number of nursing areas in shopping malls have been a godsend.  Some are more luxurious than others, but anything is better than feeling like a tourist attraction while nursing your baby on a bench in the middle of a busy mall.  Third, my nursing pillow has allowed Emily to nurse in the most comfortable position while giving me two free hands to catch up on my celebrity gossip with a magazine or read a good book.  Finally, all of the support from family and friends has definitely helped me along the way.  There are so many thoughtful and loving reasons why a new mom chooses to breastfeed or not to breastfeed and whatever the decision, it needs to be supported by everyone around her.  I am lucky to have such wonderful people in my life who have supported me the whole way through, given me advice and shared their most embarrassing stories on this topic. 

So as we begin the weaning process, I will definitely miss the wonderful and embarrassing moments I have experienced.  However, I can now look forward to new memories with Emily as she tries new foods on her own and develops her own tastes.  Maybe my blog will expand to include a new category – “In the Kitchen with Emily”.  She can show you how to make a mean beef stew – as long as you don’t mind it pureed.

Day one of the nursing journey.....we make a pretty good team!
One thought on “Winding Down

  1. My best memories of your nursing journey: driving to Brockville (or did the journey terminate in Kingston?) when Emily was just a few weeks old, and stopping to nurse in Belleville.

    I think Belleville became your go-to place for nursing when you were travelling to Kingston, Brockville and Ottawa. Even though you and your dad and David think “Belleville Sucks!” it was a provided pretty good shelter for a nursing mom and baby.

    Also, when we were all together for Luella’s funeral, Emily would get a little fussy sometimes and not latch on properly. Then she couldn’t get any milk and would be grizzling even more. You would take her up, cuddle her, and say, “That’s OK, let’s regroup here,” and she would calm right down and when you put her to the breast again, she latched right on and began to nurse.

    I am in awe of your patience and the manner in which you have travelled these last 11 months. You have done what works best for you and your baby and you have developed a closeness with your daughter that is wonderful to see.

    Kudos to Daniel, as well. He and his baby girl have bonded beautifully over the past year, and sometimes that is hard for dads to do when mom is breastfeeding. You guys make an amazing team.

    Love to you all.

Leave a Reply

