Baby Steps

Like Mother, Like Daughter

If you asked me when I was 13 years old if I will ever enjoy Van Morrison’s music or listening to CBC radio, I would have rolled by eyes and confidently stated, “never will that happen!”  Well, now I am 29 years old, a mom and a wife and I find myself taking up many of the same interests, likes and dislikes as my mom – including listening to Van Morrison and CBC radio. 

I remember my mom working out to Jane Fonda audio cassettes in our family room.  Now, I routinely do the same – unfortunately, Jane Fonda is more focused on her acting career so I work out to DVDs of Jillian Michaels instead.

Our breakfast menu for the school week was prominently posted on the fridge for my brother and I to follow – Monday was pancake day, Tuesday was oatmeal day, etc. (I still remember it all!)  Now, I plan out our weekly dinners on my blackberry. 

One of my mom’s regular lunches was a greek salad – it seemed like she ate it for lunch everyday.  Now,  I make myself a spinach salad with chicken pretty much every day for lunch.  I never get sick of it!

Not only are my routines now similar to my mom, there are things we have always shared in common – like our ability to watch a movie over and over again without ever getting sick of it – I think our first copy of “Not Without My Daughter” broke down from over use!

This recent revelation has made me start to wonder what traits and routines Emily will pick up from me when she’s my age.  Will she have a slight shopping obsession?  Will she love to bake?  Will she secretly choose the longest line at the grocery store so she can catch up on all of the magazine celebrity gossip?  What sorts of things will I do to annoy her when she’s at that pleasant pre-teen phase of her life? 

It will be interesting to see what will happen and when it does, I will be happy to know that my daughter appreciates some of my choices and interests – the same way that I do now of my mom.

Mom and me - photo booth at the mall - 1995
14 years old and still smiling.. must have had a good Mom to deal with all of my pre-teen drama!
Jane Fonda showing off her......flexibility?
2 thoughts on “Like Mother, Like Daughter

  1. There is a saying that has some applicability in this case. It is: “The older you get, the smarter your parents get.” We tend to begin to realize and appreciate some of the wisdom our parents had, especially as we start to parent our own children. Although as parents of young children, we don’t usually realize at the time the lasting impression we have on our children, and that some of our actions, attitudes and values will be adopted by our children. Unfortunately, there are many examples in society where children have adopted the negative traits of their parents.

    Your Mom is an excellent mother, and a role model that has positively influenced you. You in turn are an excellent mother from whom Emily is, and will, benefit. I just hope that I will be around to see Emily follow in your footsteps, to become a very capable and caring young woman and mother, just like her Mommy and Mamie.

  2. I noticed that you have a quote from Julia Child in the header of your blog site. Since your site is also devoted to Baby Steps, I thought you should have an appropriate quote for that aspect of your blog. The following quote is applicable to both the subject of the “Like Mother, Like Daughter” blog post and the Baby Steps-related posts. Maybe you could add it to the header with the one from Julia Child.

    “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it” (Proverbs 22:6).

Leave a Reply

