Baby Steps

Mommy Brain

Last night, I decided to throw my credit card in the recycling bin along with the receipt for our take out food.  I didn’t intentionally throw out my credit card, of course, but between Jerry barking his head off, Emily crying from the other room and my stomach growling, I didn’t even realize what I had done.  Today, when I tried to use my credit card at the grocery store, I realized I didn’t have it.  I racked my brain trying to think of what I could have done with it and couldn’t, for the life of me, think of where it might be.

Later this afternoon, I took the recycling bin to the garage and as I was dumping it out, a shiny, small card caught my eye and I quickly remembered that 1) I lost my credit card and 2) that this shiny small thing must be my credit card.

“Mommy brain” is a term used by many people to describe the idiotic, irrational and forgetful moments that moms experience due to a lack of sleep, a lack of adult socialization for long periods of time and the ten million little thoughts that run through a mom’s brain at any given time.  These million thoughts can include: worrying about the developmental milestones that your baby hasn’t reached yet; worrying about the colour, size and shape of your baby’s poop; figuring out how to run all of your errands without interrupting nap time, feeding time or changing time; scanning your baby’s body for rashes that may be associated with the introduction of a new food; and figuring out how to go to take a shower, go to the bathroom, dry your hair and put on your make-up (if there’s still time) the most efficiently. 

With all of these thoughts clouding a mom’s brain, it is understandable that little mishaps like throwing out your credit card can happen.  I wonder if mommy brain is a permanent thing?  Does it get worse with more kids?  Do Dads get “Daddy Brain”?  I guess time will tell.  For now, I will continue with my mommy brain moments, laugh at my complete lack of sanity and always look in the recycling bin the next time I lose something.

Earth to Mommy....come in Mommy!
3 thoughts on “Mommy Brain

  1. I don’t think that Dads get “Daddy Brain”. It’s not that we wouldn’t like to have an excuse for forgetting special occasions, and the like. However, I’ve been told multiple times by Mamie that men are not multi-taskers. Therefore I would suspect this deficiency precludes us from having “Daddy Brain”. Although our single mindedness might cause us to exhibit similar forgetfulness.

  2. I think another name for “Mommy Brain,” is “my head is so full, nothing else will fit in.”

    Suddenly, you are balancing another person’s comfort and needs with your own. Add to that, that this other person is not yet capable of expressing in words what their needs are, so you have to try to anticipate what those needs might be in 20 minutes or two hours time. And their needs exist on a 24-hours-a-day, seven-days-a-week schedule. It’s a trial by fire.

    Congratulations on doing so well in this whole new world, mommy!

Leave a Reply

